Doug Wright Awards Nominees

Posted on Mar 28, 2014 in Blog



The 2014 Doug Wright Awards nominees have been announced and several Koyama Press artists have made this year’s roster.

Michael DeForge is nominated for the Dough Wright Award for Best Book, as well as for the Pigskin Peters Award, which recognizes the best in experimental or avant-garde comics. Both nominations are for his collection Very Casual.

Also nominated for the Pigskin Peters Award is Julie Delporte for her illuminated diary comic, Journal.

Patrick Kyle is nominated for the Dough Wright Spotlight Award (aka “The Nipper”), which recognizes Canadian cartoonists deserving wider recognition. Patrick is nominated for his body of work in 2013, which includes Distance Mover, which we are collecting this Fall.

To see the whole list of nominees, as well as the Giants of the North Hall of Fame inductees, head on over to The Comics Reporter here.

Congratulations to Michael, Julie, Patrick, and all of the artists nominated!